Discount Moving Network

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.

Discount Moving Network

Postby Guest » Tue Apr 01, 2003 2:06 pm

Can anybody give me any information on this company? They have given me the lowest quote overall and have been very thorough in telling me everything that is included with that quote. The gentleman I spoke with gave me the address for this site and told me to check out a couple of the other companies I had spoken with. I've never used a moving company before, we have always done it ourselves, but this time we're going cross country and a U-haul is a lot more coslty in the long run. Any information you all can supply will be greatly appreciated.

twalker
Site Admin

Postby twalker » Tue Apr 01, 2003 2:39 pm

First of all, it always makes me nervous when a moving company sends a consumer here to make themselves look good. Just because a mover gives out this web site, does not mean that they are a reputable company.

Discount Moving Network has only been in business since 9/26/2002 (red flag 1). They are based out of Hollywood, Florida (big red flag 2), and they are a moving broker not a moving company (red flag 3). They do at least have the required licenses and insurance to operate as a broker.

Remember, since they are a broker your contract is going to be with the company who's name is on the Bill of Lading, not with Discount Moving Network. The Bill of Lading is filled out by the moving company not the moving broker. That means that they can tell you whatever they want, but they have no legal liability if they hire a scam moving company for you who rips you off on moving day.