New member of the moving industry, lots to LEARN

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.
Miami Sean

New member of the moving industry, lots to LEARN

Postby Miami Sean » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:50 pm

Hi everyone,

1st of all the story of the owner who started this site really grabbed my attention. I have moved cross country twice in the last many years from FL to Cali and back to FL so I have had some 1st hand experience with movers, both discount and professional. Tim's story is gut wrenching but this site had to be created and I'm glad he used some of that energy to make a positive change.

I am currently working as a moving consultant for a broker but I am actively looking for a better company and the endorsement of this forum/site for a few companies around my area prompted me to submit a resume and in the next few weeks I will be interviewing with a few movers including Suddath which I am anxious to go and meet.

I will be sharing some juicy stories for you guys. I try so hard to help my customers and sometimes I am even accused around the office of being too honest. That's usually a good sign you need to leave and find someone else to work for. I have lost many deals because I would not throw a low ball quote, in fact I won't quote a price to anyone until I get a fairly detailed inventory of what they plan on moving. You would be surprised when I tell someone they can't have my quote until I know what is being moved...the responses range from anger to them really wanting to speak with me further since I am not pushy and asking for credit cards on the 1st or 2nd phone call sometimes the 3rd or 4th either.