*NY -> PA estimate: Holman (yay), Moovers (boo)

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.
wirehead

*NY -> PA estimate: Holman (yay), Moovers (boo)

Postby wirehead » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:42 pm

Hi all,

I'm currently planning my move from NYC to Pittsburgh, and wanted to thank you for all the fantastic information on this site. I've never done a full-service move before and everything here has been invaluable! It helped me figure out what to expect, what questions to ask, and what companies I could trust.

Based on personal recommendations from friends-of-friends and the list here, I decided to call up three companies for estimates: Holman, Moovers Inc., and Shea. Shea cannot do a move all the way to Pennsylvania (the wording on their page here is kind of unclear about that, but she told me they aren't licensed to go outside of NY/NJ/CT), so that left Holman and Moovers.

I started by filling out the "contact" forms on their respective websites. I got an email back from Greg at Holman within a few hours. I asked if he could give me a ballpark estimate via e-mail so I could decide if a full-service move was even within my price-range (I had been seeing estimates on this forum of a 1-bedroom move costing $3k or above, which would have been expensive enough that I would have chosen to do ANOTHER self-move). He was very accommodating and provided me a ballpark estimate of $2300-$2500 based on the list I emailed him of my belongings.

Based on that, we set up an appointment for an in-home estimate a few days later. I called Moovers, who had never responded to my website request, to ask them to also come out and do the estimate. They had a window the morning after Greg was going to come out, so we scheduled that.